Cock Ups and a resin sculpture

Not one to be told what to do, I almost set my home alight with resin gone wrong this week.

Lately, there hasn’t been much time to do anything outside of jewellery work but I was determined to do something a little different so I thought I might make a paperweight or two.

Got the resin out, measured, mixed and left to sit, so the bubbles could dissipate. 6 minutes later, there are noxious fumes rising from the plastic cup. I lift the cup and it burns my fingers, but I’ll be darned if 80ml of resin goes to waste. In goes my wooden stick and I quickly discover the problem. The reaction between resin and hardener has sped up considerably and a curing process which normally takes 24 hours is about done in 10 minutes.

Not to be beaten by a bit of gloop, out comes the wax sheet and the still burning and hardening masses of resin. I form two seperate lumps using my wooden stirrer and then mount them on each other. I kind of like this clear rock they seem to be forming. A few minutes in the air and the resin has cooled enough to handle with some parts still soft enough to form. I examine the shape and immediately think of arctic caves.

With a little manipulation, I end with the gorgeous, gorgeous ball below. It will be mounted on a pieces of metal and fresh resin will be coloured and added to form a little polar scene. I am also having a tiny polar bear made to place inside the ‘cave’.

Very excited about this one. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Oh. After the disaster, I read the instructions on the box and it said not to use resin which had been opened longer than 6 months. This batch was more like 14 months old. Don’t know if that caused the problem… All I know is I love the result but PLEASE don’t try this at home! I’ll post poctures of the finished work in upcoming posts. x

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

