ViJouX@StyleAfriq – The run that (almost) never was

It’s been 5 days since the show and I am mostly rested and back to working, so I thought l’d tell you the story of how this almost didn’t happen.

It was 3pm and I was all set for Birmingham. The jewellery was made and packed in two bags.
The heavier of the two was already in my large handbag. The smaller, which contained all of the dainty stuff – sautoirs and crochet jewellery – was sat on the table (I didn’t want them to get squashed), waiting for departure time.

3.10pm
The idea was to call a taxi as I walked over, pick him up dead on 3.15pm, jump in the taxi and be at the station in time to catch the 3.27pm train to New Street.

Well, that didn’t happen. I decided, at some point on that walk, that we would never make it. Plus, I didn’t want to carry extra clothes or travel with him still in his uniform.

That bit, was a great decision.

4.00pm

Taxi had been called. The operator said the driver would only be 5 minutes. 15 minutes later,  we were still waiting. At 20 minutes past, my phone lit up.

“Would you get the door?” I call out to him as I slipped into my boots.
Two seconds later, I hear the door bang shut and 5 seconds after that, a ping as the main door released.

He had only gone and left the building without me! I grabbed my bag, locked the door and rushed downstairs.

As I got into the taxi, I warned him to never again leave the building without me.

We missed the 4.27pm but caught the 5.07pm service.
It was all dandy, until we got to Stafford. I wanted to complete a pair of leather and chain earrings so I opened my bag. To my horror, I realised that in rushing out after him, the bag of good stuff had been left sitting on the table.

I called ahead to warn of the disaster and my friend assured me that we could probably use what I had and some of the pieces she had bought off me.
Needless to say, the rest of the journey was a complete downer.

Soon, it was my turn. The girls were all dressed in black like I had asked and the boys were topless.
No, no, no – that wasn’t me!!! 🙂

We did the best we could; we stacked pieces and out they walked. Five minutes later, it was my turn to walk with them, heart in mouth.

I held on to the last of the boys and as we walked out, the crowd erupted. I still don’t know if that was because they loved my jewellery or because of my massive afro.

All I know is, there were lots of cheers, I ran out of business cards, my facebook likes have gone up and I will be one of the sponsors of the African Women of Substance’s Miss Africa UK pageant .

I don’t know about you but I believe in God and ‘Little is much, when God is in it!’

Some of what stayed behind and the ‘fro…

image
image

image
image

3 thoughts on “ViJouX@StyleAfriq – The run that (almost) never was

Leave a Reply

