My First Official Photoshoot

Horn bead and copper necklace

Horn bead and copper necklace

Everyday, we see and are enchanted by beautiful pictures on the internet and gracing the covers and pages of our favourite publications but many, like me, do not appreciate the amount of work that goes into creating many of these masterpieces.

After months of taking pictures on my cybershot with results ranging from very good to scary, I decided it was time to take the plunge and spend a little cash.
Enter my friend and publisher of FabAfriq magazine – Adeline, the amazing ClickJones photography, amazing MUA – Rahila, models – Amelia, Elisabeth and Davide and the coordinator genie, Hailie.

All I did was set a budget and show up on the day with some jewellery. The shoot produced about 350 photographs, many of which will be discarded and took 6 hours to complete. Needless to say, I now have a healthy respect for commercial photography and all involved.

I thoroughly enjoyed watching everyone do their thing and even managed to capture a handful of images. I was so in awe at the transformations, I remember asking if the pieces on the models really were mine.

When I design stuff, it looks good to me. When I make it and place it on a bust, it looks even better. When pieces sell, they go off to their new homes and you wonder how that person feels and what they look like, wearing your creations. NOTHING could have prepared me for the pure joy of seeing my creations on living breathing people, up close and personal. And the photographs… Oh ClickJones, I think I love you (their work, that is :D)

Enough of my rambling. Here are a few pictures, more to come later.

Enjoy!!

Mel, Liz, Rahila and Hailie doing and getting done

Mel, Liz, Rahila and Hailie doing and getting done

Mel looking fierce

Mel looking fierce

Mel and Liz, doing their thing

Mel and Liz, doing their thing

Davide in the hematite and black onyx necklace and customisable pendant

Davide in the hematite and black onyx necklace and customisable pendant

Davide and Mel, looking fierce together

Davide and Mel, looking fierce together

Davide in the horn bead necklace and customisable bracelets

Davide in the horn bead necklace and customisable bracelets

20130531_161239

20130531_161124

20130531_154437

Even baby was part of it :)

Even baby was part of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

